Tomorrow officially starts off the Summer Movie Season with the opening of CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR. The Summer Movie Season is my favorite time to go to the movies and this year is no different as their are 6 films that I cannot wait to see.

CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR – May 6th

This summer starts off with a bang with CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR taking over the theaters. I am such a huge fan of the MCU as all of their films have been so fantastic, fun, exciting and not afraid to make their stories challenging; going beyond what you’d expect from a typical superhero film. Captain America is my favorite character of the MCU as I feel like we’ve seen the biggest growth from him as a character and in his story. Just like WINTER SOLDIER, I expect CIVIL WAR to turn everything upside down and inside out; completely changing everything in the MCU and what is to come in Phase 3. Also, there’s something about seeing superheroes clash and fight each other, but with added emotional weight that everyone fighting used to be partners/friends, adds such a richness and complexity to the story. I am not exactly sure what is going to happen, but that’s why I am so excited to see this film.

NICE GUYS – May 20th

From the very first trailer for this film, I was sucked in. I loved the chemistry between Russell Crowe and Ryan Gosling, which you can see more of in the funny promo for the film here, and I loved the vintage look and slightly old fashioned feel to the films plot. What is even more exciting is that this film is coming form one of the best writer/directors we have working right now, Shane Black. He always brings such a fresh take on what could be a stereotypical film, but he injects each film with so much personality and fun that you know you’ll be entertained no matter what, and NICE GUYS looks no different. It’s also great to see Russell Crowe in a comedy as he normally in such dramatic films, that it will be nice to see him let loose and have some fun for once.

FINDING DORY – June 17th

FINDING DORY has a lot to live up to, as FINDING NEMO is now considered to be a modern classic filled with wonderful characters and a memorable story. FINDING DORY brings your favorites back from the original and adds an all-star cast that includes: Diane Keaton, Idris Elba, Kate McKinnon, Bill Hader, Kaitlin Olson, Ty Burrell, Michael Sheen, and Ed O’Neill. It’s hard not to get excited when a new PIXAR film comes out as they have one of the best track records out there for quality. Yes, they have a handful of missteps, but generally they always bring us great stories with delightful characters and you leave with a smile on your face. Dory was the big standout from the first film, so it makes sense why the sequel would focus on her, and I’m totally excited to see what type of madcap adventure will will go on with her. I expect there to be a ton a laughs, and most likely a few tears along the ride.

THE BFG – July 1st

THE BFG is Steven Speilberg’s first family film he has made since he directed the under-appreciated THE ADVENTURES OF TINTIN back in 2011 and its nice to see him back as he has given the world such amazing family films like ET and HOOK. Adapted from the Roald Dahl novel, the film follows a young girl who befriends a friendly giant who tries to keep her safe from mean, children eating giants. Spielberg is one of the most influential directors of all time, so when he has a new film come out, you know that I will get my butt to the theaters. I have been a huge fan of his my whole life, and it’s amazing that he able to continually put out such consistent great work. He’s a master of his craft and I am in awe of every film I see of his. I feel like he’s at his best when he take us on an adventure, and that’s what I feel like we will get here with THE BFG.

JASON BOURNE – July 29th

I remember watching the film film and being completely blown away, and then the original trilogy did something unusual where each subsequent film was better than the one that preceded it. What the original BOURNE trilogy was able to masterfully do was expand his story and character immensely and not make each film seem like a retread of the one before it. They were exciting and fun with Matt Damon being a complete badass. They were also a thinking-mans action film, where it wasn’t just about the fights or the guaranteed amazing car chase set piece that each film seemed to have, but Jason Bourne was a living person who took his time to figure out exactly what his next moves were going to be. I never thought I’d see a new BOURNE film lead by Damon as he said after he made ULTIMATUM that he was done with the franchise, but I am so happy he’s back and also with Paul Greengrass as the director. They are a dream team together and the trailers for JASON BOURNE have been edge of your seat exciting. I cannot wait to see this movie.

SOUTHSIDE WITH YOU – August 26th

SOUTHSIDE WITH YOU was a Sundance darling and just a couple weeks ago, we were finally given the trailer, and I feel in love. I melted right there in my office chair. Based off the first date of Michelle and Barack Obama, it follows them go on the best date ever in Chicago in the 1980’s. Tika Sumpter and Parker Sawyers play Michelle and Barack and their chemistry is undeniable and the whole film looks so unbelievably charming. I am a sucker for a good love story, and this might be the best ones we’ve seen on film. The film comes out at the tail end of the Summer Season, so it will be a nice pallet cleanser for the big action films that came before it.

 

