independence-day-2-resurgence-trailer-breakdown-easter-eggs-753096

The first INDEPENDENCE DAY came out twenty years ago. That makes me feel very old. I was at the perfect age to see that movie in theaters. It captured my imagination, scared me, and thrilled me in a way that not a lot of other movies had at that time. I also didn’t see a lot of scary movies. Now, this year, the long-awaited sequel will arrive.

So of course there is a new trailer for it!

Here is the trailer:

I’m not going to do a crazy breakdown like I did for yesterdays’ wonderful JASON BOURNE trailer, but I do have a few thoughts…

Jeff Goldblum’s presence is always appreciated, but the absence of Will Smith makes this almost feel like an unauthorized sequel. That movie was his big moment in Hollywood. I remember quoting his character for the rest of that summer. I have no idea how the actor playing his son will fare, but judging from this trailer there seems to be a pretty big charisma hole at the center of this thing.

That being said, this movie has Jeff Goldblum, Brent Spiner, Sela Ward, Maika Monroe, William Fitchner, Bill Pullman, Charlotte Gainsbourg (what???), Vivica A. Fox, and Judd Hirsch. That’s a hell of a lot of actors that I like.

I don’t think we can expect much with this one, but I’d sure love to be surprised.

INDEPENDENCE DAY: RESURGENCE blasts the hell out of the landmarks that weren’t destroyed in the first one on June 24th.

 

 

