girlontrain0004

The first trailer for the highly anticipated THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN has arrived to the station on time, but is being held up due to signal clearance.  As in I’m not really sure what I am looking at here. This movie definitely wants to be GONE GIRL and yet it doesn’t look like it even comes close to capturing the pulpy tone of that film. 

Here is the trailer:

I haven’t read the book, so I’m not really sure how well this trailer captures the story. I like so many of the people involved with this film. I’m always rooting for Emily Blunt to have a hit on her hands, MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE – ROGUE NATION correctly instructed us to be excited whenever Rebecca Ferguson appears on screen, Justin Theroux gets a career long pass for his work on the second season of THE LEFTOVERS, and whoever Haley Bennett is… well I’m paying attention now.

Yet none of that makes up for the drab tone of this trailer. It doesn’t look like the movie will be any fun or even remotely exciting. I may end up being in the minority on this one, but I calls ’em like I sees ’em.

THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN chugs along on October 7th.

