5-reasons-gareth-edwards-s-star-wars-rogue-one-will-be-different-from-other-star-wars-729019

Lucasfilm has released the first trailer for their upcoming ROGUE ONE: A STAR WARS STORY and it looks incredible!

Click to check it out…

Here is the trailer:

Here, as always, are some thoughts:

-The first shot of the trailer tells you everything that you need. The music is pitch perfect, a familiar tune played a bit more longingly than usual. Our main character, another strong female lead (!!!), walking through a gritty rebel base with the soldiers wearing the old rebel uniforms. It’s terrific.

ro01

-Felicity Jones is playing Jen Arso/Jyn Erso/Richard Kind. I don’t know how to spell the name, but I’m sure that by the time the movie comes out I’ll have learned quite well.

-She’s got a rough track record with counts of forgery, theft, and assault. It plays like a somber version of the GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY line-up.

-Oh hell YES we get some Mon Mothma! I have nothing else to add here besides insane excitement to see more of this character.

ro18

-Diego Luna playing a bad-ass looking rebel. I love the rumor that he is Biggs Darklighter and would like that to be true more than anything.

-“This is a rebellion, isn’t it? I rebel.” She is such a stone cold bad-ass and I love it. She messes up those classic stormtroopers something fierce!

ro33

-This movie looks like ZERO DARK THIRTY meets THE DIRTY DOZEN set in the Star Wars universe and I have zero issues with that. I don’t know if you can tell, but I think I really liked this trailer.

-They made the Death Star look scary again. That dish being installed is seriously creepy. I don’t think anything in this trailer will be able to top the station being revealed from the shadows.

-I was wrong. Ben Mendelsohn in a white Imperial uniform and cape is actually far creepier. That later shot when he is wading through the water gave me chills!

ro38

-Forest Whitaker looking like he is wearing power armorĀ from Fallout is pretty freaking awesome. He gets some haunting narration over the remainder of the trailer. It really sounds like he’s seen some shit.

-Everything with the rebel base looks great. The new stormtroopers look great. The shots of our heroes on the run look great. That one dude messing a few stormtroopers up with a bo staff looks great. The shot of a hooded figure (Darth Vader?) kneeling in front of some pulsating power core looks great. The AT-AT’s firing on rebel soldiers on the tropical planet looks AMAZING.

ro43

-The trailer caps off with a shot of Richard Kind in some sort of Imperial superhero uniform. I have a lot of questions about this, but the big one is “When can I see this incredible looking movie?!”

ro44

The answer is December 16th of this year.

