zendaya-main

According to Deadline, the Sony Pictures/Marvel Studios SPIDER-MAN reboot has cast pop star Zendaya as ‘Michelle’. Let’s breakdown what this could mean…

I have no idea who Zendaya is, but her casting could mean several things.

As far as I’m aware, there is no major character in the Spider-Man mythos named Michelle. It’s possible that ‘Michelle’ is a character created exclusively for this new movie. It’s also possible that this name was used to keep the nature of the role quiet while actresses were being tested.

I could see her playing Mary Jane in the movie. I think that she definitely has the right look for that character. I don’t know too much about Zendaya as an actress, but if she has the chops… I think she could be a great addition to the MCU’s iteration of the webhead.

