ghostbusters-trailer-image-12

The long awaited trailer for Paul Feig’s GHOSTBUSTERS reboot has finally arrived and we have many¬†thoughts and feelings about it…

Here is the trailer:

Here are some thoughts on the trailer:

-The trailer begins with some shots of New York City and acknowledging the original movie. It weirdly feels like it’s setting this up as a sequel, but we know that is not the case from the many interviews with the cast & crew. It all culminates in some graffiti of the Ghostbusters logo in what appears to be a subway tunnel and the tagline “Four new scientists will answer the call.” Color me confused.

-Kristen Wiig gets slimed and gets all the points for not saying “She slimed me.” She even has a good crack about slime and… cracks. This seems promising.

-Kate McKinnon has already stolen the movie with that wink after her mechanized venus fly trap machine slams shut. That’s comedy.

-Super intelligent and self-aware Melissa McCarthy is my favorite Melissa McCarthy and that looks like the Melissa McCarthy we’re getting in this movie. Awesome.

-They look pretty damn awesome in their Ghostbusters jumpsuits.

-Some of these jokes are falling really flat for me, but I’m still just appreciating that they aren’t just copying what the original did. That is a great way to build up some goodwill.

-SLIMER!!!

-Again. Kate McKinnon. “Is it the wig or the hat?”

-Really tall ghost walking through Times Square gets a big thumbs up from me.

-All of them getting their weapons and particle accelerators ready like it’s a ghost western gets me really excited. Mark it folks. I was officially sold on the movie at a minute and fifty-four seconds into the trailer.

-Not sure what that Chris Hemsworth shot was all about? They showed it right before McCarthy got possessed. Is he possessed? I might need to see this movie to find out…

-The idea that members of the team will be possessed is fun, but that last slapping bit with Leslie Jones and Melissa McCarthy fell completely flat for me. Kind of bummed that it is the note they decided to end the trailer on.

Overall, this looks like a lot of fun. I’m worried that it won’t be as funny as I’d like it to be, but this is still an effective first trailer for the movie.

GHOSTBUSTERS will answer the call on July 15 this year.

 

