Ex-Machina-Download-Wallpapers

It was an amazing year for movies. So amazing that I haven’t even been able to see all of the wonderful things that are out there. I’m seeing ANOMALISA tonight and have plans to see THE REVENANT later this weekend… But it’s time to call it on 2015.

I don’t do a 1-10 (or in this case 15). I love all of these movies for incredibly different reasons and to call one my “favorite” would be doing it a disservice. The best movies are the ones paired with the correct moments. I may watch MAD MAX: FURY ROAD when I’m sad to cheer me up or I may watch THE END OF THE TOUR to go further down that emotional rabbit hole.

Here is what I saw, loved, and intend to continue watching for the rest of my life in alphabetical order…

BEASTS OF NO NATION

Beasts-of-No-Nation

Cary Fukunaga painted a masterful, emotional painting with this movie and Idris Elba also slays it with his role of a tortured warlord. If you have Netflix, then you have zero excuses to not watch this movie. It’s incredible. It is also my favorite movie of the year.

THE BIG SHORT

FILM-THE_BIG_SHORT_37882487

The latest movie I’ve seen on this list and the most interestingly made one. It’s like a half-dramatized fever dream documentary. Christian Bale also knocks another role out of the park. Adam McKay makes good on the promise of his earlier films. This is the best movie that came out last year.

CREED

635712538022292039-XXX-CREED-SNEAKPEEK-MOV01-DCB-74168494

Read my review. This is absolutely my favorite movie of the year.

THE END OF THE TOUR

The-End-of-the-Tour-Review

This underseen movie is incredible and is one of the most poignant studies of existence, fame, and ambition. It also has Jason Segel deliver a performance that should have at least garnered him an Oscar nomination. Guys, I have to tell you, this was the best damn movie I saw last year.

EX MACHINA

Ex-Machina-01-GQ-22Jan15_rex_b_1083x658

This is everything that science fiction should be. People forget that STAR WARS isn’t sci-fi, but movies like EX MACHINA are. I can’t wait to watch Alicia Vikander, Oscar Isaac, and Domhnall Gleeson act till the end of days. This is Dave Coupe’s favorite movie of 2015.

THE GIFT

JoelEdgertonTheGift

I don’t want to say anything about this movie. Just see it. You have to witness the performances from the three leads, because I’m pretty sure that we’re going to get a Jason Bateman role renaissance in the near future because of this one. This was easily my favorite movie of the year.

THE HATEFUL EIGHT

hateful_eight_twc_5.0

This is the honest, cynical antidote to the last two righteous revisionist history films from Quentin Tarantino. To call one of the actors from this ensemble out would be to undermine their actual work as an ensemble. This is the best that 2015 had to offer in film.

INSIDE OUT

InsideOut556500e6a2be0-2040.0

Two words. One name. Bing Bong. All of the tears. This masterpiece about emotions is an emotional masterpiece. The best movie made for release in 2015.

MAD MAX: FURY ROAD

maxresdefault

What more can I say about MAD MAX: FURY ROAD? I watch it all the time. I will seriously watch it once every few weeks and I haven’t been bored with it once for even a second. My favorite movie of the year.

MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE – ROGUE NATION

mission-impossible-rogue-nation-motorcycle-explosion_1920.0-e1433808025568

How does the fifth movie in a blockbuster action franchise end up being the best one? While MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE – GHOST PROTOCOL was an amazing rejuvination for the series… This movie showed us exactly what a MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE movie can and should be. Rebecca Ferguson also was a massive standout in it and has a very exciting career ahead of her. My favorite movie last year.

SICARIO

115760_original

Read my review. Gosh, this had to be the best thing that came out this year.

SPOTLIGHT

maxresdefault (2)

Read my review. It is my favorite movie of the year.

STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS

sw_jj_fullwidth_04-1200x674

My love for this movie comes from how good it is, which you can read about in my review, but also for the opportunities that it sets up for the future. We have a lot of STAR WARS coming our way. This movie showed that this might be a pretty great thing. This was far and away my favorite movie last year.

TANGERINE

maxresdefault (1)

Another movie that you can watch right now on Netflix! I know you all have it… So go watch it! The most moving, funny, and human movie I’ve seen in a long time. It’s also a beautifully shot movie made on an iPhone 6, which I have some experience being around. This was my favorite movie of 2015.

TRAINWRECK

HT_trainwreck_still_mm_150717_16x9_992

The best comedies are honest ones and the best movies make you take a long, hard look at your life. TRAINWRECK was a joy, a riot, and a lesson. It also announced Amy Schumer as the next big comedy movie star. My favorite movie of the year.

That is it for 2015! I hope 2016 has just as many “favorite movies” in store for us!

