maxresdefault (1)

Yes, folks, it’s that time once again and Awards Season has officially started. Over the past couple of days, both The National Board of Review and New York Film Critics Circle have announced their winners on the best movies of the year.

On Tuesday, The National Board of Review announced that MAD MAX: FURY ROAD as the best picture of the year. Even though the film won the top honor, this was the only award it walked away with. THE MARTIAN scored three awards with Ridely Scott winning Best Director, Matt Damon walked away with Best Actor and Drew Goddard won for his adapted screenplay. Both THE HATEFUL EIGHT and ROOM won two awards each with THE HATEFUL EIGHT winning for Best Supporting Actress (Jennifer Jason Leigh) and Best Original Screenplay (Quentin Tarantino) and THE ROOM winning for Best Actress (Brie Larson) and Breakthrough Performance (Jason Trembly). To see the complete list of winners, click here.

I am very happy that MAD MAX won for best picture as I think it is definitely a top runner in this years award season. It is not your typical awards film fodder, and that’s why I think it is so refreshing. I would love to see more wins for this film down the line, and this is a great start.

I am a little surprised to see that Ridley Scott won for THE MARTIAN. It’s not that I didn’t think he did a great job directing it, but I feel like that wasn’t the big takeaway from the film. For me it was more about the acting (Matt Damon’s win is much deserved) and special effects. He has been in the business long enough, so I guess it is his time to get his due.

What I hope becomes a big trend is the awards attention towards Sylvester Stalone’s phenomenal performance in CREED. He is the heart and soul of that film and he gives a performance of a lifetime. I am excited what else CREED can do in this awards season as it is one of my favorites for the year.

carol2-xlarge.jpg

CAROL was the big winner for the New York Film Critics Circle, winning a total of 4 awards that include Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, and Best Cinematography.  The film has been garnering awards buzz ever since competed for the Palm d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival back in May, and I see this as being of the biggest contender in this years award season. For their list of winners, click here.

 

 

