1907495_935371753189756_2837889358679333509_n-e1440708810269

Mitch thought it would be fun for both of us to interview each other so that you, our readers, get a better idea of who we are and how movies have affected our lives. Here are the 5 random questions I asked Mitch, and his answers: 

1) What is your most important movie memory?

My most important movie memory was watching What’s Eating Gilbert Grape when I was in middle school. That was when I came to realize that films are not simply there to be funny or entertaining, but they can affect you on a whole different level. Before that, most of what I watched with animated Disney movies, or generic kids films, and this was the first one the deeply affected to the point of crying my eyes out as the end credits roll. I had never had such a visceral reaction to film before I saw What’s Eating Gilbert Grape, and every film after, I went in with such a better understanding and curiosity of how films work. It inspired me to look deeper into films, and then to think more critically about the quality of films that I was watching.

2) Your life is a movie… What is the genre? What is the title? What is your role?

My life is definitely a comedy, and I would be the funny best friend, who isn’t the main character, but is always the audience favorite. The title of my movie would be, “Me and the People I Know.”

3) If you could take on one filmmaker’s career, whose would it be?

Ever since I was a child, I have loved Steven Spielberg. He has one of the most well balanced film careers, spanning just about every genre and he’s a master at each one. You always know you’re going to get a great quality film, with excellent storytelling, and memorable characters. He one of the most well respected filmmakers out there, and he can do whatever he wants with completely creative control. How could you not want that?

4) Aliens come to this world, knock on your door, and demand that you show them one movie that will either prevent or guarantee the Earth’s destruction… What would that movie be?

Hands down Big Lebowski. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that movie. If the aliens didn’t like the movie, I would go and destroy their planet.

5) What is your favorite movie soundtrack/score?

My favorite movie soundtrack would have to be Romeo + Juliet. It came out around the time soundtracks would actually sell, and it had one of the best compilations of artists from the 90’ like Radiohead, Garbage, The Cardigans, Everclear, Des’ree, etc… Kissing You by Des’ree is one of the best love songs ever written. Such an iconic soundtrack to one of my favorite films as well.

