977910_605345796966_1819332466_o

I thought it would be fun for both Dave and I to interview each other so that you, our readers, get a better idea of who we are and how movies have affected our lives. Here are the 5 random questions I asked Dave, and his answers:

1) What is the first movie you remember seeing?

Disney’s PETER PAN that was re-released in theaters in 1989. The memory is pretty hazy, but I do vividly remember Peter and Hook fighting on the mast of the pirate ship. Pretty impressive for a three-year-old!

2) What’s one movie you love but everyone else doesn’t like and vice versa?

I don’t know if there is a movie that I love that EVERYONE else doesn’t, but I constantly get flack for really loving LOVE ACTUALLY. I just think it’s wonderful and will always have a spot in my Blu Ray player around the holidays or when I feel a little down trodden about my love life. A movie that I dislike that everyone loves? BIRDMAN. It even kills to to have to capitalize it.

3) What was your favorite movie in middle school, and does it still hold up now?

Middle school? That’s, what, 1997-2000? My favorite movie throughout that period of time was definitely the first MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE movie with Tom Cruise. I remember my Dad took me to see that when it came out in 1996 and it pretty much stuck around as my favorite until the end of middle school. I ran around yelling “red light, green light” while mashing gum in my hand all the time.

4) What was the best movie viewing experience you’ve ever had?

There have been so many wonderful experiences watching movies, but the one that takes the cake was probably seeing the midnight show of LORD OF THE RINGS: THE RETURN OF THE KING with my friend Dennis opening night. My parents let me go out to see it on a school night, it was my first ever midnight showing, and it was one of the most enjoyable experiences I’ve ever had watching a movie. The enthusiasm of that crowd was infectious and I matched it grin for grin. It was the best possible ending to what I still consider a near perfect trilogy.

5) If you could live in one cinematic universe for one whole day, which one would it be and why?

That’s actually a tough one. I would love to say the Marvel Cinematic Universe, but there is enough monotony in that universe that it doesn’t guarantee that my life would be any different. Whereas something like living in the STAR WARS universe… That would guarantee that things would be a bit different. It’s also a magic space western. That scratches a lot of itches that I have.

